Richard Burkinshaw & James Rial aka Audiojack’s standing in electronic music speaks for itself, the pair have been heavily involved since around 2006 and have made quite the impact with releases for 2020Vision, Leftroom, Get Physical and of course their own Gruuv label where they return to here.

Over the past year Gruuv has unearthed material from some of the most promising young talents in the industry, such as Dale Howard, A1 Bassline, Copy Paste Soul and Coat Of Arms, a telling sign of the attentive nature and acute A&R skills of the brains behind the imprint.

Here we see Audiojack offer up some fresh original material, the first of which is title track ‘Machine Code’, the duo employ a production technique used in their critically acclaimed 2006 hit ‘Robot’ here, wherein every sound is generated by channeling the rhythmic elements through the same delay. The result is a gritty dancefloor focused cut, fuelled by glitchy effects, vigorous drum lines and baroque structural changes. Up next on the original material is ‘Indigo’, seeing the pair opt for a more refined, progressive groove this time, playing on vacillating background atmospherics, organic percussion and infectious bass licks.

On the flip side of the single we see two remixes offered up, the first of which is Paul C & Paolo Martini’s interpretation of ‘Machine Code’. The Italian duo turn in their signature up-tempo vibe with the mix, extracting snippets from the fray of the original and reshaping it into a bouncy and vibrant workout.

Man of the moment Alexis Raphael then closes the single with his remix of ‘Indigo’, the Hot Creations / Jackathon Jams artist reworks the original track into a dynamic, groove-led number with gritty 909 rhythms and dubby resonant synth stabs driving the composition.

This is as expected superb new material from Audiojack and yet another first rate addition to the Gruuv catalogue…

DJ Support :

Eats Everything
Maya Jane Coles
Ewan Pearson
Joris Voorn
Maxxi Soundsystem
Ben Pearce
Doc Martin
Oliver $
Sidney Charles
P Streetgang
Simon Baker
Joyce Muniz
Andre Crom
Edu Imbernon
Brett Johnson
Waifs & Strays
Infinity Ink

Additional information



A1 – Machine Code (Original), A2 – Indigo (Original), B1 – Machine Code (Paul C & Paolo Martini remix), B2 – Indigo (Alexis Raphael remix)